Foodie Stuff, Main Dish, Pork, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Stove Top Smoothered Pork Chops and Braised Onions

Years ago I was watching this show or that one, really I can’t recall which one, but that’s not too important here because what I do remember…. is the amazing recipe shared that day! 

Thanks to the Southern Chef for sharing this major pot of goodness on that fateful day. 

This has to be one of my most favorite comfort meals, it is so darn delish. I hope you’ll give it a try. 



You are only browning the chops here 

Set them aside

You want to cook off the flour flavor here, so don’t rush this step. Cook the flour & butter mixture until thickened and good and hot. 

And there it is, perfection on a plate.

Ingredients…

  • 8 thick cut boneless pork loin chops
  • 1 onion, thinly slices
  • 1/2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tsp salt (divided)
  • 1/2 tsp pepper divided
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup seasoned flour mix divided (season with 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and 1 tsp garlic powder)
  • 1/3 cup (already seasoned) flour
  • 2 packets pork gravy mix
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 cups water

Pair this with my Cheesy Grits and you will be in comfort food heaven!

Process…

  1. In a large stock pot, heat the olive oil to med hot
  2. Saute the onions for about 30 minutes on med, or until soft
  3. Remove the onions from the pot and set them aside
  4. Take your pork loin chops and dredge them (both sides) with 2/3 cup of the seasoned flour mixture
  5.  Brown the chops in olive oil, both sides
  6. Remove the chops from your pan 
  7. Combine the butter and remaining seasoned flour in the pan, heat and  stir until you get a thick rue.
  8. Slowly add in the milk and water and continue to heat until bubbly (on medium high) and whisk until it forms a thick gravy 
  9. Add in the gravy mix
  10. Stir until the gravy mix is combined well
  11. Add in the half and half, whisk until combined
  12. Continue to heat (on medium) 
  13. Add the onion and pork chops back into the pan
  14. Bring the entire mixture to a light boil
  15. Lower heat and simmer covered until pork chops are done about 30 minutes or so. 
  16. Layer my cheesy grits or yours (ha) or a mound of mashed potatoes on a plate then top them with my delish smothered pork chops and gravy
  17. Enjoy! 

    This will most likely become a family favorite, I know it is in my house. 

    Happy cooking and eating.          g.  

    This entry was posted in: Foodie Stuff, Main Dish, Pork, Recipes

    by

    Hi, thanks for stopping bye. I have so many passions, not quite sure (ever,) where to start. I hope you find posts here on my blog that are interesting to you. I have a culinary background, having spent time studying in Hollywood Ca. and in the South of France. I am also a passionate amateur photographer. Lately I've been trying my hand at the written word as well. Enjoy.

    Leave a comment