Aunt Joan’s Lima Beans

Okay so I will always think of my husband’s/our late dear Aunt Joan when I think of lima beans. She would prepare them often for her husband, my husband’s uncle, our dear Uncle Dan. They always sounded so good and they looked even better as I watched them being served to our Uncle Dan. Now the thought of them just brings back loving and warm family memories.

Back then at times, my husband would ask me, “Gina, how come you don’t make more lima beans?”. At the time, I didn’t make lima beans period. Having not grown up with these tender morsels as a staple in my young diet, I really had no clue which way to go with them, back then, in my early married life cooking days. 

This year at Easter time I decided to make my husband and myself an Easter feast. Ham was to be the main event. When I got to the grocery store I was faced with the dilemma, buy a big (giant) ham for a great price or go with an all I needed (small ham) and spend more money. After some thought I opted for the mega ham. I cooked it that day. We enjoyed our Easter meal with the delectable ham as the star. That evening I had my husband finish the slicing of the ham, I then took over and separated the slices into portions for meals (many of them) later. I labeled the freezer bags… ham, cheese and gravy over bread, ham sandwiches, lima bean soup, etc… 

Here’s to you at Aunt Joan (& Uncle Dan) I give you my Lima Bean Soup…

 I checked out a few recipes on Pinterest before coming up with my own simple but delicious version. 

Ingredients 

  • 1 16 oz bag of lima beans (I’m not a soaker, but by all means soak if you like
  • 10 cups beef broth 
  • 3 to 4 bay leaves 
  • 1/4 tsp. dry thyme
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup chopped ham

Here I served it up with a drizzle of olive oil, a dollop of sour cream and some crunchy yummy croutons, it was definitely delicious! 

  

    Leave a Reply

    