A Fine Fruit Salad 

I grew up eating this most delicious stuff around the holidays. It’s funny my mom and sisters have made it for family gatherings for years, but I kinda over time lost my love for it. Recently my mom passed away and all of a sudden I’ve been craving it like crazy. I guess food memories can be like that, you miss what you don’t have. You want back the yummy good stuff and the people in your life that created it.  

Missing you Mom… ❤️


Here are the ingredients, I made a few adjustments (to the original recipe) according to my taste buds. 

Don’t forget the pineapple tidbits! (not pictured here) 

Here’s what it looks like done. Chill the salad for a few hours at least or better yet overnight. 

Ingredients

  • 1 large bag (20oz) mini marshmallows 
  • 2 large (30oz) cans fruit cocktail in heavy syrup, drained
  • 1/2 a large bag (14oz) of coconut
  • 1 can (20oz) pineapple tidbits, drained
  • 8 oz sour cream 
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon 

Process

  1. Combine all ingredients 
  2. Mix well
  3. Cover and chill
  4. Serve and enjoy! 


This will feed a large crowd, I’d say at least 12 with a good size portion, definitely consider halfing the recipe if that better suits your needs. 

Wishing you and yours a blessed Easter,  g. 

ps. feel free to add a little more of this or that according to your own taste buds. I added walnuts freely today, but if my precious little granddaughter was anywhere nearby (she’s far out of state currently) those would be out, as she is highly allergic to all tree nuts. This salad would be fine sans nuts. Extra coconut, a bit more vanilla, more pineapple… any slight adjustments would work a ok. 

7 thoughts on “A Fine Fruit Salad 

  1. Sorry to hear you lost your mom recently. But, love that this reminds you of her. I grew up on a similar salad that was mostly made at family pot-lucks and for holidays. Seeing this brought back some wonderful memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

