Tamale Pie, Oh My. 

I saw another Pinterest pinner pin a version of this recipe one early morning, it looked and sounded so good… Tamale Pie, oh my! 

By that evening it was all mine! Well I did share, my family did enjoy some of it too. 

I prepped a few things earlier in the day.

I used seasoned ground turkey as my meat topping, chicken, beef or pork can be used as well. Ground turkey is just what I happened to have on hand. 

When my turkey meat cooled down I added one small can of sliced olives to it. 

I packed this mixture in a plastic ziplock and stashed it in an ice chest for transporting. This fab dish (in the making) was to be the star player later in the day and I had some miles to travel before getting to my final destination to finish preparing it and serve it up.


This is the cornbread layer ready for baking. Looks good already, doesn’t it?  I combined all my dry ingredients ahead of time, placed it in a ziplock and packed it up for the ride, when I was ready to cook that evening I added the oil and egg and then the green chiles, combined it all, layered it in a pie plate and was ready for the 1st bake, the cornbread level. 


This is the tamale pie fully assembled and ready for the final bake, first uncovered, then 10 minutes longer covered in foil. 

The whole pie did not last long, not even long enough for it’s own… walla, here I am all prepared, ready to star in a fab meal, photo moment!

Make this pie, it is delicious. 

Ingredients

Meat Topping

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup mild red enchilada sauce
  • 1 small can of sliced olives, drained
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp red chile powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper 

Process 

  1. brown the turkey meat, drain it
  2. add in the enchilada sauce, mix
  3. add olives, combine all well 
  4. season the meat mixture 
  5. set aside

The Pie Part

The Original recipe can be found here… except for the topping… (on link carnitas meat was used)

 I followed this recipe exactly, it’s a definite keeper!

To make my Tamale Pie I used the ground turkey topping above. 

This tamale pie is delicious on its own. We enjoyed it with a dollop of sour cream and just a tad extra enchilada sauce. 

I think fresh chopped onions, green onions, plain yogurt, cilantro or even some crushed tortilla chips would all work well as extra toppings when you serve it. 

Enjoy! 

3 thoughts on “Tamale Pie, Oh My. 

Leave a Reply

