Mexican Squash, my Calabasitas Tejano

Last year I had the great fortune of being able to visit my sweet family in El Paso, Texas. I spent many a wonderful summer there when I was just a girl. The trip for me, was like going home again, albeit a home away from home.

One evening my cousin,  2 of my dearest aunts and I decided to cook a meal together.  What fun we had, cooking, sharing stories, and recipe secrets. This was one of the side dishes we prepared with the fruits of my cousin in laws labor. He maintains a garden during spring and summer. From what I understand, his zucchini harvest each year is extraordinarily good.

I know the zucchini that evening sure was!

Oh my yumminess. You will not be disappointed with this recipe.

I like to add the cheese when I serve it up.

 

It’s a fair amount of chopping, but so worth the effort. Healthy and delicious.

The jalapeño is totally optional.

The cooking process goes quite fast.

IMG_1647

 

and there you go… I give you, Calabacitas Tejano

Now… prep, prepare and eat.

Ingredients

  1. 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  2. 1/4 onion, chopped
  3. 2 garlic cloves, minced
  4. 4 zucchini, chopped
  5. 1 medium tomato, chopped
  6. 2 cups chicken broth
  7. 1 cup milk
  8.  1 cup frozen corn
  9. 1/2 tsp. salt
  10. pepper to taste
  11. pinch of crushed oregano
  12. shredded cheddar cheese for topping, to your liking

Method

  1. in a stock pot heat the oil to medium heat
  2. add the chopped onion to the stock pot, cook onion until translucent
  3. if using jalapeño for spice add that in now
  4. next, add in the garlic, cook till lightly brown (be careful it burns easily)
  5. add in the zucchini, continue to cook all for about 5 more minutes
  6. next, add the chopped tomato, cook for just 2/3 more minutes
  7. add salt, pepper and pinch of crushed oregano
  8. next, add the chicken broth
  9. add the milk
  10. next, add in the frozen corn
  11. bring mixture to a simmer, keep at simmer for 5 min.
  12. remove the pot from the heat, zucchini will continue to cook in the hot broth
  13. adjust the seasonings to your liking
  14. at service (when you serve it), top your warm zucchini with shredded cheese

Enjoy.

Notes-

This is best served soupy, I like to served is over a bed of white rice, topped with the shredded cheddar cheese… it’s a Tejano culinary delight!

This goes really good with my Salsa de Chile Japones Everybody Salsa, just go light, the salsa can be spicy.

 

 


 

 

Leave a Reply

